Well, hi!

So, I have decided to venture outside my little cave of inexperience and into the frightening world of social media..  How did it get so big so quickly? How did I get so behind so quickly?

Call me old fashioned, but I’ve always been a pen and paper sort of gal.  Generally, my thoughts are either inside my head or inside my journal.  For the most part, I’ve been pretty happy with this arrangement.  To be perfectly honest, I dismissed blogging for a long time as a useless and shockingly egotistical modern phenomenon.  Sometimes it feels like the internet is precisely what millions of self-absorbed people were waiting for – an opportunity to post their ‘private’ thoughts and feelings in the most public domain imaginable.  Gone were the days of accidently on purpose leaving your diary open on a desk where, if you were lucky, an inquisitive sort might read all the sordid details of your terribly difficult life.

Now, before you stop reading, I don’t think this is the case for everyone. Not by a long shot.  If there’s one thing I have been discovering it’s that blogging and social media is far more complex and sophisticated than it first appears. Sure – a rudimentary scan of the most popular sites will probably reveal that partaygurl_88 has bought some new socks. But if you learn to make the most of social media there’s actually a lot more on offer.

So that’s my goal.  As a young journalism student, this is the world I hope to make a living in – whether I like it or not.  No more excuses.  I’m leaving the cave.

Leave a Reply

