Kate’s Summer Reading Challenge

Well, university is out and summer is here. Here’s to long days spent doing nothing, frizzy hair and your thighs sticking to the seat of your chair.  Attractive image, I know. And while I have a job and my holidays won’t be wholly idled away, I’m taking the opportunity to set myself some homework.  Everyone wishes they’re half as cool as me. Here’s how it’s going to work.

Three months, three books per month.  That’s nine books to read and review.  Not a lot to be honest, but I need some way to break the chronic cycle of laziness that I have stumbled into post exams.  Because staring at walls is really not a past time and I want to get back into reading and to be motivated and inspired by writers.

I’m now compiling my list.  As soon as I can summon my brain back from the underworld I will begin.  Currently some possibilities include:

Image The Little Shadows by Marina Endicott

I had never heard of this author before I picked up her novel in the book store a few months ago.  The cover caught my eye, I read a few pages and the writing was so gorgeous and evocative that I had to buy it. 

9781742972961Who Could That Be At This Hour? by Lemony Snicket

Lemony Snicket aka Daniel Handler wrote A Series of Unfortunate Events, one of my childhood favourites.  I’m so so very excited about his latest book, which is a prequel to A Series of Unfortunate Events. It’s also aimed a slightly older audience which will be interesting.

the-secret-keeperThe Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

I love love love this author and I always demolish her books as soon as she releases them.  Think early 20th century period novels, dreamy, mysterious, colourful and unfailing tragic – if you go for that sort of thing.  Better yet, she’s an Aussie author and I do always try to support my fellows!

BringUpTheBodies

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

I reviewed Wolf Hall about six months ago and this is the sequel.  Her writing is tough but sophisticated.  I’m keen for a challenge and more bloody Tudor history.

I realise that three out of four of these are period novels, so maybe I need to branch out from my little obsession.  I would really welcome recommendations of any kind.  Once I have everything lined up I will post the full list and get cracking.  Hopefully by publishing my progress I can hold myself accountable and not spend the entire summer shooting through 15 seasons of Law and Order.  And yes, this is actually on the cards.  So tell me about your favs and save my brain.

Leave a Reply

